2013: What a year

Its been a while since I blogged, I know. Thing is, its difficult spending 8 hours on each post I did about my Contiki tour last year; no I am not finished with that! I actually have about 6 days to write about (3 Contiki + 4 in London which I still don’t have all the photos for). But I’ll get to that as soon as I find enough time.

So, back to the point of this post. What has happened this year? Well, there were at least 2 lists that I remember creating this year: my 2013 To-Do List as well as the Places (I want) to Visit and Why list. I set out to do as many of the items on those lists that I possibly could, but travelling was certainly not one of them.

I bought my first house at the end of 2012 and by March this year I had moved in. There are a lot of things I still need to do like decorating etc., but its a long process and I have many things still left to do. The house was quite a set back for me but I managed to not go broke in the coming months. The one thing that was always on my mind though was the pile of things I wanted to do this year. I didn’t know in what order I’d do them but I looked for every opportunity to be able to cross off something from that list.

The year is practically at and end now, so here’s some stuff that I can tick off:

1. I redid some of my kitchen at home. It wasn’t practical for me to strip the whole thing down and redo it from scratch, so I had the counter tops replaced and an extra section added in.

2. I met up with 2 people that I hadn’t seen for 10 years. Both were high school friends – one of which I hadn’t seen for 11 years.

3. Gyming 3 times a week which was an on and off thing, but I’m proud to say that it happened more often than not.

4. I planned on attending a rugby match but that didn’t happen. I did attend a cricket match in its place though.

5. I saw several sunrises this year.

There were several things that I didn’t get to do such as the below:

  • Visit Cape Town
  • Watch a play
  • Feed a dolphin
  • Drive an Aston Martin
  • Finish at least 7 books
  • Do charity work
  • Pet a tiger
  • Fly in a helicopter
  • Ride in a hot air balloon
  • Eat sugarcane
  • Do a canopy tour

I am not disappointed that I didn’t get a chance to do these things. Why? Because I went to Switzerland. It was the quickest trip decision I have ever made all thanks to my relative, Dhamari, who lives just outside of Geneva in the town of Nyon. Within barely 5 minutes of her offering for me to stay at her place, I made up my mind to go. I’d never make such a quick decision for anywhere else. Its the only place I’d drop everything for and that’s exactly what I did.

It doesn’t matter to me that I didn’t get to do the other things that I set out to do this year because

1. I crossed out 2 places from my bucket list – Zurich and the CERN headquarters in Geneva.

IMG_0393

2. I went from never seeing snow in my life to going to the top of Europe: Mont Blanc.

IMG_0549

3. I saw my first glacier, Mer de Glace, a short mountain train trip away from Chamonix, France.

IMG_0632

4. I met my German penpal Melanie for the first time after we first started writing to each other in 1998. 15 years ago!

20130909_192044

5. I went to Heidelberg, the biggest town I’d ever been to in Germany.

IMG_0287

So, the moral of the story is that you should set goals that you know you can achieve comfortably if you put the effort in to it, and who knows, you might surprise yourself by doing something even bigger and better. I did not expect to cross off of any bucket list items this year, let alone two, but I did.

One thing I now know for sure is that dreams do come true. Dream them, and they’ll happen when they’re supposed to.

6 thoughts on “2013: What a year

  1. Thanks for this post Aradhna! I am now inspired to create a list of my own for next year!(Long overdue list lol Hiren has been coaxing me from God knows when!) Thanks for the motivation! And Goodluck for the rest!

Leave a Reply

