The Hills Are Alive in 2015

Its been a good start to 2015 so far, though more professionally than personally. Trust me to be the one to fall for someone who I’d never see again cos he left the country! I mean, really?! Other than that, there is so much to look forward to this year, mainly my travel plans.

This year I plan to do only items that are on my bucket list, and not places that I’ve seen before. I mentioned in a previous post that my heart is in Europe, and that I’m not done with it yet, so of course it is my destination of choice yet again.

Last month a good friend of mine temporarily moved to Latvia, having never left South Africa before. He was petrified the day he arrived, wanting to go home immediately. I tried my best to console him and assured him that there was absolutely nothing to fear, and that it would be the best thing that would ever happen to him. Its not very often that you get paid to stay in a European country while studying for 6 months. My advice to him was to enjoy it while he can; to go out and see as much as possible, meet people, try the local cuisine, and travel out from there.

Having listened to some of my advice, the travel bug had bitten him within almost no time at all. The first thing I said to him when he told me that was “MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!”. This was a friend whom I’d been trying to get to travel for years, but he just never did it. Now that he’s been in Riga for a month, he understands why I’m so in love with Europe.

My travel inspiration, Brooke Saward, continues to inspire me every single day. Often, she unknowingly voices my thoughts. She did so yet again just yesterday:

Brooke_Patagonia

Every time I go to one place, at least another 3 or 4 places (if not more) that I have to visit come to mind. Right now I don’t know if there is such a thing as a finished bucket list. Mine certainly isn’t. I choose my destination in order of priority. Yes I want to see the Yangtze River and the Grand Canyon and the Southern Alps, but right now it is time to see places that have been on my mind for years.

So, where exactly am I talking about? In a nutshell: Germany, Austria, and the Czech Republic. I’ve been to both Germany and Austria before, but never to any of the major cities. The largest city I visited is Heidelberg, which was extraordinary, however I’ve been pining to visit both Berlin and Salzburg. Now’s my chance. So here’s the plan:

2015_plan

Starting point: Munich. From there, a day trip to Neuschwanstein Castle in south west Bavaria. Next up, Salzburg – the land of The Sound of Music. From there, a day trip to the tiny but beautiful lake village of Hallstatt. From Salzburg the plan is to head out to Prague, and eventually Berlin.

I am still the early planning stages and there is much to research (and coordinate) before finalising anything, so there is a chance that the plan will change. However, so far my trips have always worked out the way I planned them to. So fingers crossed, this one is what will be in a few months.

Have a place that’s been in your mind for a long time? Stop making excuses and go see it.

“All we have to do is decide what to do with the time that is given us.”

– Gandalf, The Fellowship of the Ring

7 thoughts on “The Hills Are Alive in 2015

  1. Very nice tour for the year. Berlin is great to start, the booming metropolis is kind of different to the other destinations. I think you’ll really enjoy your trip (esepcially Prague – a great city). Looking forward to your trip reports 🙂

  2. Pingback: Europe 2015: The Planning Process | Aradhna Online

  3. Pingback: Austria Part 2: The Sound of Music | Aradhna Online

Leave a Reply

