Europe 2015: The Planning Process

Its been 2 weeks since I publicised my route plan for my trip to Europe this year, and since then, the trip is pretty much all I’ve been thinking about. In the past, I’d only speak to close friends about my plans. Those who don’t know me are completely oblivious to the fact that I think things through a thousand times before taking one step forward. And I don’t do that only with travel. Only once in my life did I decide within 5 minutes to do something big, and that was when I went to Switzerland in 2013.

This is the first time I have decided to document some, if not all of the process I go through when planning a holiday.

There were 2 big questions in my mind for this trip: 1) Which time of the year do I go and 2) Will Brooke be in Berlin when I’m there so that I can take up her offer of staying with her?

Since Brooke knows where she’s going only 3 months in advance, I can’t quite wait for her before booking. So I guess we will have to work things in reverse in that case!

I think I have pretty much answered the first question though. As stated in my last post, I’m going to Munich. Now, even if you don’t know much about Germany, chances are you’ve heard about a certain little festival called Oktoberfest. There cannot possibly be a better time of the year to visit Munich. Before 2012, I had never touched a beer in my life. Now, I love it. The timing couldn’t have been more perfect because in all these years, there wouldn’t have been much point to me attending Oktoberfest. Everything always happens when its meant to, and 2015 is the year.

There are other things I’ve been researching as well. This time round, I want to do things I’ve been dreaming about for at least 20 years but never actually did it. I’ve been such a sucker for the Alps and although I’ve been up Mont Blanc as well as Mt Pilatus, I still haven’t done a hike. This year, that is going to change. There are 2 places I have in mind for hiking – Salzburg as well as Hallstatt. I’m even considering doing one around Neuschwanstein Castle, but that still needs more research regarding trail routes etc.

20120611_121710

Somewhere in the Austrian Alps

 

 

I am so over doing only touristy things when I go on holidays. I wouldn’t completely cut it out, but I prefer having the option of doing things on my own rather than joining an overpriced tour group. In some cases, especially when travelling alone, it is better to book a tour, especially when doing a day trip out of a city (which is what I did when I went to Mont Blanc). In other cases, you’re forced to book a tour since it is the only way you can get into a place (like CERN, which is actually free). For this reason, if the option exists, go for the free tours. You get to see and experience so much more that way.

Here’s some sites that I’ve been looking at:

Other than Oktoberfest and hiking around Hallstatt, I haven’t quite decided what else to do with my time during this trip. Going on the trip is the only thing that’s more exciting than planning it. And boy, do I have fun planning.

In the meantime, forgive me while I dream.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Europe 2015: The Planning Process

  1. Pingback: Europe 2015: The Planning Process Part 2 | Aradhna Online

Leave a Reply

