Europe 2015: Nearly There

There are only 25 days left for my trip now, and the excitement really is building. My mind is starting to drift, and everything is falling into place. As usual, I have decided to blog my status update.

The number of curious people has increased – mainly those that are still in shock that I’m going all by myself. I’ve gotten warnings of all kinds, ranging from “Don’t accept drinks from strangers!” to “Maybe you’ll meet a nice German guy!”. Its easy to tell which of those are from my parents and which is from my friends. Either way, all warnings I get are very entertaining. People, I’ve done this before, I know what to expect!

Mer de Glace, Chamonix, France

Mer de Glace, Chamonix, France

There’s a couple things left for me to do, like making sure I budget properly and how to get from one point to another, journey time etc., but I’m not spending much time on it as I really don’t want to over plan. But some of these things are essential before going.

I’ve decided to spend the largest amount of time on packing. As I have probably mentioned before, I am a terrible packer. I tend to pack a lot of “just-in-case” items, which take up valuable space and 90% of the time I end up not using those items at all. From past experience I know not to pack brand new shoes, or clothes that I hardly wear at home to begin with. New shoes just hurt because you’re wearing them in from walking more than usual, which basically means you’re punishing yourself for buying new shoes. Not ideal.

I’ve also decided not to take a handbag with me, but rather just a backpack. On this trip, its going to be a better idea to put my DSLR directly into my backpack rather than in its own bag with all the lenses, as that too is a rather cumbersome thing to carry, especially considering the fact that I’ll constantly have my backpack on. Having both hands free when you’re moving around is underrated, and you realise the luxury only when you have awkward things to carry.

IMG_20150213_173848

The best tip that I picked up was to email myself all my documents such as my flights, accommodation confirmations, and most importantly, my passport. We’re online all the time, so its important to have electronic copies of important documents like that as you never know when they might come in handy. The last thing you want is to be stuck without proof of who you are or where you’re going. As much as its great to have printed copies, its always advisable to cover your tracks with an electronic copy too.

One thing that I really wanted to do which didn’t quite go according to plan was to visit Legoland in Berlin. Lego was a major part of my childhood and I simply cannot miss this opportunity, especially when Legoland is a mere 200m from my hotel in Potsdammer Platz. Legoland Berlin is the first place I’ve seen that says “Adults must be accompanied by a child”, although I understand why. This wasn’t my problem though, as Adults can go at night which is what I wanted to do anyway. The problem is that all of those tickets were sold out online, which means I need to try the walk-in route. For something like that, I really wanted to have an advance booking, but I guess I’ll just have to keep my fingers crossed and hope that I can still get a ticket as a walk-in visitor.

All in all, I’m beyond excited. It is a long overdue break and I’m pretty sure its going to be one of the most memorable trips I’ve ever done. I’ve decided to try another continent on my next trip so I won’t be seeing Europe for a while after this one, so I have to make it count.

Europe, I’ll be seeing you very soon!

 

8 thoughts on “Europe 2015: Nearly There

  1. How exciting! I’ve got 23 days before I leave on my FIRST EVER European adventure! That’s actually why I started my blog, but have now decided that it would be quite fun to maintain in general!

    Where are you going? Where have you been? Any tips for first time travellers to Europe?

Leave a Reply

