2015: A Year In Pictures

This year has been one of the best I’ve had. Even though it started off with pain, I decided to let everything go and see the good side of the situation, and many others that I didn’t have control over.

2015 has taught me that there is simply no point in refusing to accept a situation you don’t have control of, as it only amounts to bitterness, hate, and all things negative. If you choose acceptance, it can only result in positive emotions such as forgiveness, hence the ability to move on.

My dreams were big this year, and a lot of them became a reality. Putting ‘the situation’ aside (yes, it was a love thing), I focussed on the other things I really wanted to do. Here’s the result:

1. Getting together with my high school friends

We are in constant contact over Whatsapp, but being able to get all but 3 together with their husbands and children was awesome. The 7 of us make up MR FANTT – Megna, Rita, Fathima, Aradhna, Natasha, Trisha, and Tamika. We are each other’s support group 24/7 and I’ve been through a lot with them. They’re friends I truly treasure. Love you all!

MR FANTT

2. I got promoted

It was something I was working very hard for, and it finally happened. I never thought I’d be good enough to have the title of Senior Developer (at least, not just yet), but getting promoted taught me to stop doubting myself. We’re all capable of much more than we think we are.

Newly appointed senior developer

3. My cousin got married

The second youngest of the cousins on my dad’s side of the family, my cousin Thenushka got married. It had been ages since the last family wedding, so it was awesome seeing everyone together.

4. Two of my three best friends finally met

I’ve known Sophia for about 18.5 years now, 10 years more than the time I’ve known Rowan, but they had never met until a few months ago. Rowan comes to visit me in Johannesburg every year (he lives in Durban), and Sophia, who lives in Cape Town, came for a quick business trip with her parents. I had not seen her for about 7 years, so to have her and Rowan on either side of me filled me with so much happiness that I actually can’t really describe it. Sophia, Rowan, and Trisha (seated to my right in the first picture above) are like 3 of my limbs. My life would be very different without them.

Rowan and Sophia

5. I attended a One Direction concert

Ok, so just to be clear, this is not something I planned on doing at all. However, I must admit, those boys are pretty talented and they churn out some rather good music. Thanks to my friend Tejal, we got some really good seats. It was the band’s first show since Zayn Malik left, and it was quite remarkable seeing people selling their tickets outside the stadium since he was the only one they came to see. The concert started over an hour late, but the music kept the crowd entertained enough for the whole stadium to get up and dance to The Macarena. It was definitely a memorable experience.

One Direction

6. I bought the car I’ve always wanted

I’ve been a fan of BMW since I was about 10 years old. I loved the way they looked and sounded, and I always dreamt of having my own. This year, I was finally able to get myself one – a 320i M Sport.

Drogon

7. I attended my friend’s baby shower

I was very excited about Shaylyn’s baby not only because she’s my colleague-turned-friend, but because she was due in August – my birthday month. The date she was given was the week of my birthday, so I was hoping right up until the very last moment that she would give birth on my birthday. However, due to the doctor’s schedule, Shaylyn (below centre) was forced to have her 3 days prior to my birthday. Nevertheless, I’ve got a very soft spot for the little Poppins (as I call her).

Shaylyn's baby shower

8. I finally attended a craft beer festival

Even though I was going to Oktoberfest in Munich less than 2 months later, my friends and I booked tickets for the Craft Beer, Food, and Wine festival about 4 months in advance. I guess you could look at it as a way to get me used to drinking beer before the big event in Munich.

We spent the entire afternoon there and enjoyed tasting different craft beers and food, and bought some delicious things to take home, too. The one thing I won’t forget is the merchant I bought a bottle of wine from – he opened it before handing it to me. Who does that?!

9. I caught up with Mayuriga

Mayuriga is the first friend I made when I started university way back in 2003. We were 2 of about 10 girls in a class of 60 mechanical engineering students. Coming from an all-girls primary and high school, suddenly being dumped in a class of 50 boys was a huge shock. Over the years, Mayuriga and I met every second year or so, but this year was the first time we could get together in Joburg. After something like 22 attempts (about 15 of which were selfies), we finally got a decent photo together.

With Mayuriga

10. I ticked off over a dozen bucket list items

The biggest thing for me this year, by far, is my recent trip to Europe (which I’m still not done writing about). What was on my bucket list to begin with and which ones did I tick off?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What did I learn this year? Don’t take life so seriously. Do what your heart tells you; only then will you find real happiness. A friend said to me that Avicii’s The Nights reminds him of me. Because of it’s super relevant lyrics, I’ve named it my theme song.

“One day, you’ll leave this world behind. So live a life you will remember.”

Thanks, 2015.

4 thoughts on “2015: A Year In Pictures

Leave a Reply

